Channel Swimming & Piloting Federation "Nothing great is easy", Captain Matthew Webb

CS&PF Committee 

President: Michael Oram -
RYA Yachtmaster with commercial endorsement, Principal of Dover Sea School & RYA motor cruiser instructor, RYA instructor for practical and theory courses, First Aid instructor, VHF & GMDSS instructor, Radar instructor. British Sub Aqua Club Advanced Diver (30 years plus). RYA/DoT examiner, RYA Powerboat Instructor. Channel swim and unorthodox crossing pilot since 1982 (30 years). He has been involved in the organisation of Channel swims for 30 years, serving various positions on the committees involved. He has escorted in excess of 500 Channel crossings (74% success rate to date). 

Vice President: Nick Adams -
Nick is a teacher at Eton college and a well-known member of the Channel Swimming fraternity. Nick first crossed the Channel at 16 years of age. Two years later he completed a solo two-way swim of the English Channel. As well as eleven solo English Channel crossings to date, he has successfully completed many other long distance open water swims around the world. Nick commits a lot of his time helping other swimmers make their dreams come true.

ChairmanLance Oram -
RYA Yachtmaster with commercial endorsement RYA Yachtmaster motor cruiser instructor. RYA instructor for practical and theory courses, VHF & GMDSS instructor, RYA powerboat instructor, RYA powerboat trainer. RYA/MCA examiner. RYA personal water craft instructor. Member of Ramsgate lifeboat crew (RNLI). CS&PF Channel swim and unorthodox crossing pilot since 1995 having escorted in excess of 300 Channel crossings (75% success rate to date).

Vice Chairman: Tanya Harding -
Tanya is a qualified swim teacher who has been involved in open water swimming since late 70's. She is an experienced open water coach and has coached a large number of soloists and relay teams. Is a recognised CS&PF Pilot holding the RYA Yachtmaster Offshore qualification, as well as being an RYA First Aid Instructor and SRC Instructor and examiner.

Honorary Secretary: Kevin Murphy -
Kevin is the official holder of "King of the English Channel" title at the moment, with 34 successful swims including three 2-way swims to date. He has been involved in Channel swimming for 45 years (since 1968) when he had his first successful crossing. He has successfully completed many other long distance open water swims around the world.

Treasurer: Kathy Batts -
Kathy came into Long distance swimming some 38 years ago as a junior. In 1975 she was a member of the youngest mixed team to swim the English Channel and subsequently went on to do another 13 relays including the first 2 way relay by a British Ladies team. In 2011 Kathy was a member of the first Ladies team to swim around the Isle of Wight. Over the years Kathy has competed at County, Regional and National level in Lifesaving and Life guarding and won several National Championships as a team member and an individual. Kathy completed a Channel solo in 2013.

Committee: Dr Sakura Adams -
Sakura is medical doctor and has successfully swam the English Channel solo. She has successfully completed many other long distance open water swims around the world.

Committee: Jim Boucher -
Jim is a former competitive swimmer who represented NI and still holds a number of NI Masters records. From Masters he moved to the Channel with the first of his seven relays in 2005. His second solo in 2011 made him Ireland's oldest man to cross the Channel. He keeps up his sprinting, albeit in icy winter conditions, and is a three times finalist at the World Winter Swimming Championships. An enthusiastic water polo player, he coaches at Charterhouse School and at Surrey University, where he will complete a Phd in Navigation in Geostationary Orbits (call it Rocket Science) in early 2017.Also Financially qualified, Jim brings a background in financial and commercial management to the CS&PF Committee.

Committee: Simon Ellis -
RYA Yachtmaster Ocean with commercial endorsement, MCA 200gt certificate of competence unlimited.
RYA powerboat instructor, 2nd deputy coxswain Ramsgate lifeboat (RNLI).
Generally just love going boating

Committee: Emma France -
Emma is a qualified accountant working as a Global Process Owner for the pharmaceutical company, AstraZeneca.  Emma is used to instigating both continuous improvement and fundamental change in a complex and rapidly changing environment, often harnessing the capabilities of IT solutions.  Emma has been one of the organisers for our annual dinner since 2009.  Emma ventured into the world of channel swimming in 2005 when she completed her first of nine relays, she has also completed two successful channel solos, the second one shaving over 4.5 hours off the first.  Emma is also a member of Guildford City Masters, and when time permits, enjoys to compete indoors.  Aside from her CS&PF responsibilities, Emma can be found supporting swimmers by leading the Dover Channel Training group that trains in Dover Harbour throughout the summer.

Committee: Neil Streeter

Committee: Deirdre Ward -
Deirdre has been a swimmer all her life and started open water swimming in 2006 when she joined the Serpentine Swimming Club in London. She eventually succumbed to peer pressure and swam the English channel in 2012. This was followed by a second channel crossing in 2015 and a 2-way in 2016. She has successfully completed many open water swims around the world and hopes to continue to do so and to help other swimmers do the same. Her pool based swimming club is Otter Swimming Club and is still a member of Serpentine Swimming Club where she is vice team captain.


Sandettie Lightship Observations

7pm, 1st August 2018

Water: 64.8 °F (18.2 °C)

Air: 64.4 °F (18 °C)

Wind Speed: 12.0 kn (22.2 km/h)

Wind Direction: WSW (240°)

Channel Weather 

The CS&PF Annual Dinner will be on 2nd March 2019. Initial bookings details published with more to follow…

2 weeks ago